BinaryWorks.it Official Forum
BinaryWorks.it Official Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 eXtreme Books Manager
 Suggestions / New features
 Suggestions

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

T O P I C    R E V I E W
Gdmster Posted - 26 Nov 2010 : 15:14:48
Hi Alessio, I've been playing around with many e-book organizers for at least three years and I must say that the new born XBM that I downloaded yesterday can be a strong player. Best players now are Calibre, Datacrow, Alfaebooks and elibrary, but only calibre shows fast upgrades. I could identify some points that should be included/upgraded in XMM:
1) file management: move, copy, rename (with templates from stored data, mainly ISBN, author(s), title in desidered order: I use ISBN for example). Possibility to arrange file AUTOMATICALLY by author or other criteria would be a benefit (see Calibre)
2) database merging: a provisional database is used to ented data and when complete is merged with the main database
3) metadata retrieving from metadata fields, file name or by parsing pdf, chm, djvu (difficult) files
4) file metadata update from database metadata
5) ISBN retrieving from file content (see alfaebooks or elibrary for practical examples)
6) other to follow

If you like I can provide you, if needed, with some hints on items above (for example which libraries can be used to manage pdf files...)